If you have a teenager at home with you, then you know that getting their driver permit and then their driver’s license is coming up soon! I am not looking forward to that day, but my oldest sure is!
Every state has its own rules and so I wanted to go over one of the state’s teenage driving laws with you. We live in Idaho, but we have lots of friends and family in New Jersey.
My sister has a daughter who will be driving soon and we were talking about what the teenage driving laws in New Jersey were. She is new to this as am I! So, we did a bit of research. I am so glad we did! Because it certainly eased my sister’s mind and now she and her teen know what to expect.
First of all, it is scary enough, as a parent, to watch your precious child take off ALONE in a vehicle!!! I know I will not like it, but we must let our little ones grow.. Makes me SAD! It is SO important to first make sure your new driver has a SAFE and reliable vehicle!
And, it doesn’t help to know that the holidays are the most deadliest time of year for any driver! I may trust my child but I absolutely DO NOT trust anyone else on the road with them.
Accidents do happen and they often times happen close to home! There are also so many things you should NOT be doing when you drive! So much to think about, ugh. Anyway, I am getting a bit off-topic and I do apologize! This is just a touchy subject for me! See below, for Teenage Driving Laws In New Jersey.
Teenage Driving Laws In New Jersey
Applying for Your Instruction Permit:
*If you are 16 years of age, you can apply for your instruction permit. However, the application must be signed by a parent or legal guardian of the child applying for the instruction permit. This must also be accompanied by the child’s school principal that says the child is enrolled in the schools’ driver’s ed class.
*After the application is approved, for your instruction permit, you will then have to pass an eye exam test and written test. The written test will go over things like traffic lights, stop signs, and traffic laws. You can get a book to study for this exam. It seems like a lot, but really, it is an easy test. If your teen is not taking a driver’s ed class, they have to wait until they are 17 years of age to take this exam.
*The teen may drive with an adult in the front seat. The adult must be age 21+ and has held a driver’s license for at least 3 years.
*The teen may not drive between the hours of 11:01 p.m. and 5:00 a.m.
*May not drive more than one passenger at a time (this does not include the adult supervisor).
Applying for Your Provisional License:
The provisional license allows the driver to drive without an adult from 5 a.m. to 11:01 p.m. and they can drive after those curfew hours with proper documentation of a valid religious or school activity.
*Teen needs to be 17 years of age (or older) and have had an instruction permit for 6 months.
*Must have parental consent
*Pass a driving test
*Can only have one passenger at a time
After having their provisional license for one year, the 18-year-old driver can then apply for their license to drive. Yay!! Now comes the worrying part for us parents! GAH!
It seems like a lot of work, but those are the steps that need to be taken to finally get your license in the state of New Jersey. I remember I got my driver’s license at age 16. That was when I lived in Oregon. I can’t believe how young I was and I was driving by myself! Every state is different and has different laws (a vietnam driving license is just as touchy! So be sure to look up on that!), just be sure to check the laws in your state and you will be prepared and ready to drive in no time!
Do you live in New Jersey? Did you know the Teenage Driving Laws In New Jersey? When did you start driving?